United Church of Canada. Quebec and Sherbrooke Presbytery (Sherbrooke, Que.)

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

United Church of Canada. Quebec and Sherbrooke Presbytery (Sherbrooke, Que.)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Quebec and Sherbrooke Presbytery was established in 1925, after the United Church of Canada was formed. The Presbytery, which was part of the Montreal and Ottawa Conference, was a court of the Church made up of the pastoral charges in the province of Quebec, excluding the Montreal region. Its membership included the ordained ministers of the charges and lay representatives. In the 1980s, the Presbytery was divided into three regions: the Eastern Region, the St. Francis Region, and the Yamaska Region. The main functions of the Presbytery were to oversee pastoral charges within its bounds; to form new pastoral charges; to receive petitions and appeals from pastoral charges and to transmit them to the Conference or to any other appropriate body; to license lay persons to serve in lay ministry; to oversee education of candidates for ministry; and to supervise the work of the ministries within its bounds. In 2016, the Quebec-Sherbrooke Presbytery and the Montreal Presbytery were merged to form the Quebec Presbytery.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places